Fighting the winter slump with soup!

I love soup.  In fact I make soup more often than I make any other dish.  I have just returned from  vacation (nothing quite like escaping the winter for three weeks), and needless to say the cold is really getting to me.  Today I decided to make some soup to warm my tummy and give me an energy boost.  It is easy to make and inexpensive.  You can use pretty much any ingredients you want, and it is bound to be tasty.

Here is the recipe that I used.  It was delicious and hearty.

2 yellow onions,   1 red pepper,   1 green pepper,   3 cloves fresh garlic,   4 ripe tomatoes,   1/2 cup red lentils,   4 long sticks of celery, 2 cups spinach   1/2 cup courgette,  700ml water,   a dash of nutmeg, oregano and basil.

Recipe

1.  Chop all the ingredients depending on how chunky you like your soup. 

     Pre-soak the lentils  (about 1 hour)

2.  In a large pot,  saute the garlic and onions for 2 minutes.  Then add the courgette.  After about 2 more minutes add the peppers, celery, spinach and tomatoes.

3.  Drain the lentils and add.  Add the water and all spices.

4.  Boil all the ingredients together for about 10 mins.  Then reduce and simmer for 5 mins.

Enjoy!

One Comment on “Fighting the winter slump with soup!”

  1. wartica says:

    Soup is always soothing, especially when you’re a little under the weather.I hope you feel better soon:) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))


Leave a Reply

